(un)structured

Josh Payne on content analytics, enterprise content and information management

2009 in Review

leave a comment »

With the end of the year approaching and a new blog starting up here for me, I figured I would seed this new blog with a retrospective on my blogging from 2009.

First, my five most viewed blog posts from 2009:

Analysis: Many folks want the facts. And the release announcement was far and away the most widely read post.

Independently, I compiled the list of my 5 favorite posts from the year (in no particular order)

I am especially fond of the Voicemail, Email and my Dad post for obvious reasons – and it was the post most frequently mentioned by others to me in conversation.

The “Disk is Cheap” post is also a favorite because that has become one of my frequently used phrases when talking about content classification – and I’m sure it will be even more so as I talk about content decommissioning for InfoSphere Content Assessment in the coming year.

Similarly, “Nobody’s Perfect: How Are You Going to Deal With It?” has become a favorite as I think it hits on an issue that I’m frequently discussing with customers: expectations of perfection from content analytics where the human-based alternatives are well short of ideal.

Lastly, “Who actually reads all of their email?“ is a favorite because it was one of those posts where inspiration hit in the morning, I cranked out the post quickly, posted later that day and by the end of the year it was one of the top read posts I put out.

Here’s hoping that there’s many more posts like that to come in 2010.

Happy New Year.

Written by Josh Payne

December 30, 2009 at 3:48 am

Leave a Reply

